26/05/2023 03:12 PM

NSW State Emergency Service (NSW SES) volunteers from across the Riverina and parts of Southern NSW have been recognised for their diligent service to their community at an awards ceremony.

NSW Minister for Emergency Services, Jihad Dib congratulated the award recipients, who have a combined 140 years of service.

“It speaks volumes of a person that they would volunteer their time to help others in times of emergency, especially for such a prolonged period of their life, and ask for nothing in return," Mr Dib said.

“These people are there to support communities in their most difficult moments, and often at the expense of time with their own family, to be there for others. They are all thoroughly deserving of this recognition.”

NSW SES Assistant Commissioner, Colin Malone joined members in celebrating their achievements in Junee on Thursday evening (25 March 2023).

Assistant Commissioner Malone presented prestigious National Medals, Long Service Awards and a Commissioner’s Unit Citation to 10 members from the NSW SES Junee, Temora, The Rock, Wagga Wagga Coolamon and Cootamundra Units.

“It is a privilege to present these awards to such longstanding and dedicated members of the NSW SES. I understand the recipients receiving awards today add up to over a century of service,” he said.

"The presentation of these awards is a fitting acknowledgment of our volunteers’ dedication and professionalism.”

NSW SES Cootamundra Unit volunteer, Desmond Rowe, received his 4th National Medal Clasp for 55 years of service to the NSW SES.

Desmond joined the NSW SES Cootamundra Unit as an 18-year-old and many of those years was at the helm of the unit as the Cootamundra Local or Unit Commander.

The now 74-year-old has taken a step back from the NSW SES but still holds a spontaneous volunteer role with the Service.

“Desmond’s award recognises not only his commitment to the NSW SES for all these years but also his dedication in looking after his local community. His wisdom and experience are irreplaceable,” Assistant Commissioner Malone said.

The NSW SES is made up of more than 10,000 volunteers serving the communities of NSW in response to floods, storms and tsunami.

Media enquiries: NSW SES Media 1800 067 234 or media@ses.nsw.gov.au

Shellarbour City
ANZAC DAY MARCH Thursday 25/04/2024 04:00 AM to 25/04/2024 09:00 AM
Back to top