Road Crash Rescue Operator

NSW SES is the largest provider of Road Crash Rescue in country areas of New South Wales and maintains accredited Road Crash Rescue units. These are located in rural areas spread across the state including Lord Howe Island. Every year NSW SES volunteers respond to hundreds of serious motor vehicle accidents. 

Road Crash Rescue accredited units undergo extensive training to meet the demanding skills required to undertake such rescues and units have specially equipped vehicles that provide them with the equipment they need to remove people trapped in vehicles. 


Apply for this role

Volunteering type

Providing rescue services and assisting NSW Police and NSW Ambulance at motor vehicle accidents.

Fitness Requirements

Reasonable fitness is required, including the ability to lift and hold heavy tools (approx 20kg) at shoulder height, work under pressure often in traumatic situations.

Time Requirements

Initial training requires regular attendance at the weekly Unit training night for 3 months, followed by ongoing training and professional development. After initial training, you will be placed on call and attendance will vary depending on rescue requirements. Note that road crashes may occur during the day or night and often on weekends or during busier holiday periods. Members need to reside within the local area and be available at very short notice.

Skills requirements

The following training pathway is required:

  • Fundamentals & generic skills,
  • Storm and Water Damage Operations (Ground & Heights),
  • Participate in a Rescue Operation,
  • Road Crash Rescue

Unit locations with this capability

Available at General Land Rescue Units:

  • Armidale - Dumaresq
  • Ashford
  • Ballina
  • Baradine
  • Batemans Bay
  • Bathurst
  • Bingara
  • Blayney
  • Boggabri
  • Bourke
  • Brewarrina
  • Broken Hill
  • Cobar
  • Coffs Harbour City
  • Condobolin
  • Cooma-Monaro
  • Coonamble
  • Cootamundra
  • Culcairn
  • Deepwater
  • Dorrigo
  • Dunedoo
  • Eden
  • Eugowra
  • Forbes
  • Gilgandra
  • Glengarry
  • Gloucester Shire
  • Goolgowi
  • Grafton City
  • Grenfell
  • Griffith
  • Gundagai
  • Gunnedah
  • Hawkesbury
  • Hay
  • Hillston
  • Holbrook
  • Ivanhoe
  • Kempsey Shire
  • Kiama
  • Kyogle
  • Lightning Ridge
  • Lismore City
  • Maclean
  • Menindee
  • Moree
  • Moruya
  • Oberon
  • Packsaddle
  • Parkes
  • Peak Hill
  • Port Macquarie Hastings
  • Port Stephens
  • Snowy River
  • Sofala
  • Tabulam
  • Tambar Springs
  • Temora
  • Tenterfield
  • The Rock
  • Tibooburra
  • Tocumwal
  • Trundle
  • Tumut
  • Urbenville
  • Urunga
  • Walcha
  • Walgett
  • Warialda
  • Wee Waa
  • Wellington
  • White Cliffs
  • Wilcannia
  • Wingecarribee
  • Woodburn
Become a volunteer
Back to top