NSW SES Recognises Southern NSW, Long Service and National Medal Award Recipients.

19/06/2019 03:35 PM

Volunteers from the NSW State Emergency Service (NSW SES) have been recognised for their diligent service to their community at an awards ceremony in Griffith. On Saturday 15th June 2019, NSW SES Commissioner Kyle Stewart presented three NSW SES members with very special awards.

NSW SES congratulates all the humble recipients and hope acknowledge more dedicated members in the near future. 

National Medal

The National Medal recognises long and diligent service in organisations that protect life and property at some risk to their members.  The Medal is awarded to persons for long service in eligible organisations who fulfil the primary function and meet other criteria.  Fifteen years eligible service is necessary to qualify for the Medal. Clasps are available for each additional 10-year period.

Award Recipients – National Medals

  • National Medal Clasp 1 – Arthur (Ray) Coff
  • National Medal – Frank Wilson

Long Service Award

The Long Service Award is awarded to members of the NSW SES who have achieved a period of diligent service of five (5) years, and then every five years’ service anniversary thereafter.

Award Recipients – Long Service Award

  • 25 Year Long Service Award – Arthur (Ray) Coff
  • 10 Year Long Service Award - Lawrence Harris

More about the recipients 

Arthur (Ray) Coff-  National Medal Clasp 1 & 25 Year Long Service Award 

Arthur (Ray) Coff has been a member of the Lake Cargelligo SES Unit since 3 August 1993 and has held various roles including - Unit Commander, Emergency Officer and LSO Course Administrator.

Ray is a recipient of the National Medal, NSW SES Director General Unit Citation, NSW SES Commissioner’s Certificate of Appreciation for outstanding efforts during the Western NSW Flood Event in 2016 and NSW SES 5-25 Year Long Service Awards.

Ray has seen many operational events, the most significant being the water tower collapse in 2002 at Lake Cargelligo and the 2012 and 2016 Lachlan River Floods.

Graphic of Commissioner and Ray Coff

Picture left to right: NSW SES Commissioner, Kyle Stewart & Ray Coff

Frank Wilson – National Medal

Frank Wilson joined the NSW SES Mathoura Unit on 5 August 2003 and has held various roles including –Unit Commander, Emergency Officer and LSO Couse Administrator.

Frank has responded to storm and flood events locally as well as deploying to support other operational activities across the state.

Frank is a recipient of the NSW SES 5-15 Year Long Service Awards and SES State Medal for the Hunter/Sydney Northern Storms.

Graphic of Commissioner and Frank Wilson

Picture left to right: NSW SES Commissioner Kyle Stewart, Frank Wilson


Lawrence Harris – 10 Year Long Service Award Clasp

Lawrence Harris has been a member of the Goolgowi SES Unit for 12 years and has held various roles including - Unit Commander, Emergency Officer and LSO Couse Administrator. 

Lawrence has led the Goolgowi Unit in their role as a Community First Response (CFR) unit providing lifesaving services to their small community and is a General Land Rescue Operator.

Lawrence is a recipient of the NSW SES 5 Year Long Service Award. 

Graphic of Commissioner, Lawrence Harris and Nichole Priest

Picture left to right: NSW SES Commissioner Kyle Stewart, Lawrence Harris and Southern Zone Commander Nichole Priest.



 Thinking about becoming a member but not sure what you'd like to do?

Find out about our various Volunteering Roles

Leeton Showground Racecourse Road
Leeton Annual Show
Leeton Annual Show Friday 09/10/2020 03:00 PM to 10/10/2020 04:00 PM
Back to top