

SENATOR THE HON BRIDGET MCKENZIE MINISTER FOR EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT AND NATIONAL RECOVERY AND RESILIENCE

THE HON DAVID ELLIOTT MP NEW SOUTH WALES MINISTER FOR POLICE AND EMERGENCY SERVICES

JOINT MEDIA RELEASE

1 December 2021

DISASTER ASSISTANCE EXTENDED FOLLOWING SEVERE WEATHER AND FLOODING IN NSW

Disaster assistance is now available in 18 additional local government areas following severe storms and flooding from Tuesday 9 November 2021.

The additional LGAs are Bourke, Coonamble, Dubbo, Glen Innes Severn, Kyogle, Lithgow, Liverpool Plains, Lockhart, Muswellbrook, Narromine, Orange, Parkes, Singleton, Snowy Monaro, Snowy Valleys, Tamworth, Walgett and Warren.

These areas are now included in addition to the initial declaration for the local government areas of Tenterfield, Forbes, Bathurst, Blue Mountains, Cowra, Lachlan, Moree, Blayney, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Cabonne, Cobar, Gilgandra, Gunnedah, Gwydir, Narrabri, Port Macquarie Hastings, Upper Hunter, Warrumbungle and Weddin.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie said the severe weather event caused significant widespread damage across NSW.

"Severe weather from early November has continued to impact a number of communities, with further flooding and storm damage across parts of NSW over the weekend," Minister McKenzie said.

"Significant rainfall and flooding has resulted in damage to major roads and residential properties, with the impacts becoming clearer as flood waters start to recede in some areas."

New South Wales Minister for Police and Emergency Services the Hon David Elliott said further flooding in the Upper Hunter region over the weekend had led to several evacuations and flood rescues.

"The assistance being announced today will help ensure councils and individuals impacted by this event have the support they need to get back on their feet."

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

- Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (eligibility criteria apply)
- Support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets
- Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and nonprofit organisations
- Freight subsidies for primary producers, and
- Grants to eligible non-profit organisations.

For information on personal hardship and distress assistance, contact Service NSW on 13 77 88 or online at www.service.nsw.gov.au

To apply for a concessional loan or grant, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit www.raa.nsw.gov.au

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government's Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au

Media contacts:

Cath Heidrich 0428 051 736 (Minister McKenzie) Angela Burford 0460 429 702 (Minister Elliott)