## Troy Grant Minister for Emergency Services

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

Tuesday, 30 May 2017

## 2017 ROTARY NSW EMERGENCY SERVICE COMMUNITY AWARDS FINALISTS ANNOUNCED

Minister for Emergency Services Troy Grant today announced the 24 finalists for the 2017 Rotary NSW Emergency Services Community Awards.

Mr Grant said the awards celebrate the outstanding contribution of emergency services workers such as nominee Gordon Hill who has been involved with the RFS for over 45 years including for more than two decades as a Duty Officer providing support for volunteers needing help after a traumatic experience.

"These awards celebrate the outstanding service, sacrifice and spirit of so many quiet achievers who tirelessly work to ensure the safety of others in times of disaster and devastation," Mr Grant said.

"We should never take for granted the work our emergency services staff and volunteers do and it is important to acknowledge the unsung heroes who have gone above and beyond.

"There is almost 500 years of combined service from this year's finalists from all corners of the State and I thank them all for their exemplary community service."

Finalists come from the following emergency services:

- Fire & Rescue NSW;
- Marine Rescue NSW:
- NSW Ambulance:
- NSW Rural Fire Service;
- NSW State Emergency Service; and
- NSW Volunteer Rescue Association.

Rotary District Governor Stephen Humphreys said Rotary NSW was delighted with this year's finalists and is looking forward to announcing the winners on 4 August.

"All of the finalists are worthy of accolades and should be very proud of their dedication and commitment," Mr Humphreys said.

"Rotary NSW is working to increase support for our emergency services and has also established an emergency services scholarship for a PhD candidate to investigate Post Traumatic Stress Disorder in Emergency Services Personnel."

For more information on the scholarship opportunity including how to apply please contact

Rotarian Mrs Dot Hennessy at dothennessy@gmail.com.

Finalists will attend an Awards Presentation Dinner, to be held at the Bankstown Sports Club, where winners for each service will be announced plus two special winners:

- Emergency Service Officer of the Year serving in a volunteer capacity; and
- Emergency Service Officer of the Year serving in a paid capacity.

Family, friends, supporters and the general public are invited to attend the presentation dinner. Tickets can purchased at: <a href="https://www.RotaryESCawards.org.au">www.RotaryESCawards.org.au</a>.

Media: Douglas Martin | 0438 371 354

The 2017 Rotary NSW Emergency Services Community Awards finalists:

Service / Agency	First Name	Last Name	Community / Suburb
Fire & Rescue NSW	Scott	Hanley	Liverpool
Fire & Rescue NSW	Daniel	Hatton	Bulli
Fire & Rescue NSW	Rachel	Hessenberger	Albion Park
Fire & Rescue NSW	Jason	Murphy	Queanbeyan
Marine Rescue NSW	David	Crawford	Terrey Hills
Marine Rescue NSW	Adolf	Franco	Berridale
Marine Rescue NSW	Albert	Morris	Central Coast
Marine Rescue NSW	Wendy	Young	Port Macquarie
NSW Ambulance	Jeroen	Leenders	Hamilton and Cardiff
NSW Ambulance	Steven	Martyn	Tuncurry
NSW Ambulance	Murray	Scanlan	Nepean Blue Mountains
NSW Ambulance	Christopher	Wilkinson	Bankstown Airport
NSW Rural Fire Service	Michael	Cole	Loftus
NSW Rural Fire Service	Gordon	Hill	Cobar
NSW Rural Fire Service	Mina	Howard	Blackheath
NSW Rural Fire Service	Keith	White	Heathcote
NSW State Emergency Service	Gerard	de Vries	Wauchope
NSW State Emergency Service	Marion	Gill	Kempsey
NSW State Emergency Service	Graham	Kinder	Manly and Windellama
NSW State Emergency Service	Christopher	Nelson	Canterbury
NSW Volunteer Rescue Association	William	Glover	Brooklyn
NSW Volunteer Rescue Association	Timothy	Lidden	Wagga Wagga
NSW Volunteer Rescue Association	Eileen	Miles	Batlow
NSW Volunteer Rescue Association	Rod	Wong	Mooney Mooney