NSW State Emergency Service | NSW SES

Skip Navigation LinksSES Homepage > Regions


NSW is divided into 17 Regions based on major river systems.

Each of the 229 volunteer units belongs to a Region, which is led by a Region Controller.Region boundaries coincide as nearly as possible with major river systems.Each Region Controller is responsible for the operational control of emergency flood and storm responses, including planning, training, operational support and other functions within their area of control. The Region Headquarters also provides administrative support to the units in its region.The Region Headquarters all have fully functioning Operations Centres and a group of volunteers who help with training, planning, operational and other functions.

The Region Controller is normally assisted by four paid staff members.

Bookmark and Share Print this page

Current Information

Wear it Purple

"Joining forces for diversity"...

Read more

Severe Weather Warning for Lord Howe Island Cancelled

The Bureau of Meteorology (BoM) has cancelled the Severe Weather Warning for damaging wind and damaging surf for Lord Howe Island....

Read more

Cancellation of Severe Weather Warning for the Northern Rivers

The Bureau of Meteorology (BoM) has Cancelled the Severe Weather Warning for people in the Northern Rivers forecast district...

Read more

View all news »